Mikel, Victor Moses and Iheanacho selected among 23 man squad to face Tanzania for AFCON qualifiers next month.

The Chelsea midfielder and Manchester City forward were included in the squad to face Taifa Stars in September Afcon qualifier

Coach Gernot Rohr has invited 23 players for next month's Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Tanzania in Uyo.

Although the game is inconsequential, the fixture serves as rehearsal for Super Eagles’ 2018 World Cup qualifier against Zambia in October.

Heading the list are Mikel Obi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Leicester City new signing Ahmed Musa as Rohr seeks a winning start in his new assignment.

Others are Carl Ikeme, Odion Ighalo, Ogenyi Onazi, Victor Moses and Elderson Echiejile.

Nigeria U23 goalkeeper got rewarded for his sterling outing in 2016 Rio Olympics as he joins Ikechukwu Ezenwa in the goalkeeping department.

However, Rizespor defender Godfrey Oboabona was axed from the team, with Alex Iwobi missing owing to a hip injury suffered while on duty with Arsenal against Liverpool. With Nosa Igiebor getting a recall for the first time since missing the Super Eagles’ squad to 2014 World Cup Brazil.

Invited players are expected report in Uyo on Sunday, 28th August 2016.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Troost-Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France), Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Imoh Ezekiel (Al-Arabi Sporting Club, Qatar), Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)